1. Welcome to Thailand Vapers, an English language forum for members in Thailand and the rest of Asia to talk about vaping.
    Commonly referred to as e-cigarettes, vaping is really about the use of personal vaporizers (mods) and atomizers (tanks, clearos, RBAs, RDAs, RTAs) filled with e-liquid.
    Are you looking to get started or an old hand at vaping? Everyone is welcome here so sign up today and talk vaping with us!

iSub G DIY wick replacement

Discussion in 'Vaping Technical Issues' started by Jimmy G, Aug 3, 2015.

1. Jimmy G

Jimmy G Thread Starter Active Member

I recently purchased an MVP3 Pro from BIG and it came with a free iSub G tank.
    Unfortunately, there were no replacement coils available and the burnt cotton taste has started coming through on the pre-installed one. I've zero experience in building my own coils but did find a vid where a chap replaced the cotton on a coil by pulling it out, dry burning/ scrubbing and then threading through a new piece of cotton.

Before I take on this challenge, I thought I'd ask if there are any tips from our distinguished members. I've literally got one shot at this (one coil) so don't want to screw it up.

<I've ordered some new coil heads which will come through in a few weeks - delivered to the UK and carried over by hand so this is only a stop gap>

Appreciate any advice.

2. Siam Diesel
    Lurking

Siam Diesel Nauti Moderator Staff Member

Buy a Nautilus or Mini-Nautilus from Big or Micky...flavor can't be compared (and you need a backup anyway).

As for rewicking, that should be pretty straight-forward. Soak the coil in vodka for awhile and then gently brush it off. Dry-burning has gone out of favor so maybe give it a good boil after the vodka...if you do dry burn it, use gentle pulses and try to avoid having it glow bright red.

I'm sure other members will be along with their suggestions.

Jimmy G likes this.
  3. Rick O-Shea

Rick O-Shea iStick Fanboy